• Zero budget tips

    Make cool movie effects for very little cash

  • Jim and Heinz

    Jim and Heinz have their own site... here.

  • Golf’s Art club

    Join unstable Genius Golf Thewlis for some art-related fun!

  • Pages

Sci Fi Special: Making a Robot suit. Plastazote.

Yes it’s been some time since we last did any preperation on our robot suit. To be hones we really hadn’t got past designing it. Well today I’m going to put all that behind me and get down to ordering some materials. I’ve thought long and hard about this and have decided the best materials to use will be cardboard (Because of it’s cheapness, availibility and also it’s easy to craft) and cover it with a material called Plastazote. The spec for Plastazote is as follows: This soft versatile expanded polythylene is tough but easy to cut and form, can be heat moulded, vac formed and laminated.

I’ve included a picture of the type of thing you can do with Plastazote (below)

I’m ordering that today so as soon as it arrives I’ll start modeling asap.

Look at our progress so far by clicking here.